County Snapshots Home

:: Liberty County ::

Community Profile

County Formed February 5, 1777
County Seat Hinesville
Incorporated Cities Allenhurst, Flemington, Gumbranch, Hinesville, Midway, Riceboro and Walthourville
Total Area 603.391733 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 61297 to its current population estimate of 65198, the county has experienced a growth change of 3901.

The county's name honors the settlers of Midway who were the most uncompromising champions of independ­ence and were the first community to send delegates to the Continental Congress.

Liberty County combined the Colonial parishes of St. John, St. James and St. Andrew in 1777. Later, the state legislature drew Mclntosh and Long counties from Liberty's original territory

Points of Interest

Fort Morris State Historic Site

Fort Stewart

LeConte-Woodmanston Botanical Gardens

Notable Citizens

Naturalist, mathematician and scholar Louis LeConte, for whom the LeConte pear was named, resided in Liberty County. His home is now the site of the LeConte Botanical Gardens.

Button Gwinnett, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, was from St. Catherine's Island in Liberty County.

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Melon Bluff Nature Center

Hinesville Jail

Return to top of page