County Snapshots Home

:: Whitfield County ::

Community Profile

County Formed December 30, 1851
County Seat Dalton
Incorporated Cities Cohutta, Dalton, Tunnel Hill and Varnell
Total Area 291.034972 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 84144 to its current population estimate of 103542, the county has experienced a growth change of 19398.

The arrival of the railroad and resulting prosperity prompted the legislature to carve Whitfield out of Murray County in 1851, and Daltonwas named the county seat

The county was named for the Reverend George Whitefield, an Englishman who first visited Georgia in 1738. Whitefield created the Bethesda orphan house near Savannah in 1740. In writing the act that created the county, the state legislature omitted the "e" in "Whitefield," to reflect the correct pronunciation of the name.

Modern Dalton still testifies to the strong legacy of the carpet and textile industries. As a leading industrial center in the country, the city confidently proclaims itself the "Carpet Capital of the World."

Points of Interest

Prater's Mill, which was built in 1855 and offered various milling services, a wool carder, a cotton gin, a general store, and a blacksmith shop. Today the mill building, which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1978, is open to the

Higher Education

Dalton State College, a two-year unit of the University System of Georgia, is also located in the county.

Annual Events

Prater's Mill Country Fair, held each October

In the mid-1980s Dalton resident and Mexican native Teresa Sosa established an annual parade to celebrate Mexico's Independence Day, which falls on September 16

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Chetoogeta Mountain Tunnel, Western and Atlantic Railroad

Prater's Mill, Dalton

Return to top of page