County Snapshots Home

:: Warren County ::

Community Profile

County Formed December 19, 1793
County Seat Warrenton
Incorporated Cities Camak, Norwood and Warrenton
Total Area 285.5 square miles


Warren County was created in 1793 from parts of Columbia, Burke, Richmond and Wilkes counties. Georgia's 20th county was named for Revolutionary War hero, General Joseph Warren, who was killed in the Battle of Bunker Hill.

The City of Camak was named for James Camak, a newspaper editor in Athens and the first president of the Georgia Railroad.

Points of Interest

Warren County claims to have had the first Rural Free Delivery system, initiated in 1868 by several farmers near Norwood. The six men hired someone to deliver the mail to their farms in return for room and board.

Warren County shares the 24,000-acre Ogeechee Wildlife Management Area with Hancock County. The Ogeechee River forms the western boundary of the county.

The county is home to several local parks, as well as a hunting preserve.

General LaFayette visited Warrenton in 1824, and a ball was held in his honor at a local home which is still standing.

Annual Events

There are several local parks in Warren County and hunting is a major pastime. There are also many well-known hunting clubs and hunting preserves due to the number of deer in the area.

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Warrenton Auditorium

Warrenton Baptist Church

Return to top of page