County Snapshots Home

:: Taylor County ::

Community Profile

County Formed January 15, 1852
County Seat Butler
Incorporated Cities Butler and Reynolds
Total Area 379.624389 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 8823 to its current population estimate of 8442, the county has experienced a growth change of -381.

Taylor County, was created from Macon, Marion, and Talbot counties in 1852. The county was named for U.S. president Zachary Taylor, who died in office in 1850.

The county seat, incorporated on February 8, 1854 was named Butler in honor of General William Orlando Butler, who was a poet, a vice presidential candidate, and like Zachary Taylor, a hero of the Mexican War (1846-48).

Points of Interest

Historic sites in Taylor County include Fort Lawrence and Beechwood Farm. Fort Lawrence was established by Benjamin Hawkins, who served as an Indian agent for all Native Americans west of the Ocmulgee River early in the nineteenth century. Beechwood Farm

Annual Events

Annual cultural events in Taylor County include the Crackerland Country Fair, which is held in the community of Howard, and the Georgia Strawberry Festival, which is held in Reynolds. Both festivals take place in April.

Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Peaches grown in Taylor County

Taylor County Courthouse

Return to top of page