County Snapshots Home

:: Murray County ::

Community Profile

County Formed December 3, 1832
County Seat Chatsworth
Incorporated Cities Chatsworth and Eton
Total Area 346.65793 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 36807 to its current population estimate of 39410, the county has experienced a growth change of 2603.

Murray County, Georgia's eighty-sixth county, was created in 1832 by land lottery, was named for Thomas W. Murray, former Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives.

After the official creation of Murray County, the area was infamous for its rampant disorder; political infighting, disputed elections, street brawls, and murders were common events. The lawlessness of Murray was compounded by Georgia's determination to have all land in the hands of white residents. This resulted in an 1834 law stating that any land held by people of Cherokee heritage would be forfeited if they broke any state law. The law spurred the creation of legislation designed to limit the rights of the Cherokee people. The disenfranchisement of the Cherokee culminated in the forcible removal of the people from Georgia in 1838-39, an act remembered as the Trail of Tears.

Like most of America, Murray County suffered during the Great Depression. U.S. president Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal agencies found a strong foothold in Murray County. The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) operated a camp out of the Eton district while they worked on the infrastructural development of Fort Mountain State Park. The CCC contributed to the creation of walking trails, cabins, and picnic facilities in the park. Another New Deal program, the Works Progress Administration, erected a stone building on the grounds of Murray County High School, which consolidated the students and teachers from several smaller county high schools. The Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) provided affordable power to the entire region during the depression and beyond. Murray County is still connected to TVA electricity.

Points of Interest

Called the "Showplace of the Cherokee Nation," this two-story classic mansion is one of the best-preserved Cherokee plantation homes. Built by Chief James Vann in 1806, it was the first brick home within the Cherokee Nation. The mansion is a state histori

The Neoclassical Revival Murray County courthouse, located in the seat of Chatsworth, was built in 1916-17 and designed by Alexander Blair.

Carter's Lake, on the Coosawatee River, was formed by the Carter Dam, which is the largest earth-rock dam east of the Mississippi. The 3,200 acre lake attracts fishermen, boaters and campers.

Annual Events

In October, there is an annual Black Bear Festival held in downtown Chatsworth.

Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Chief Vann House State Historic Site

Ft. Mountain-Chattahooche National Forest

Return to top of page