County Snapshots Home

:: Montgomery County ::

Community Profile

County Formed December 19, 1823
County Seat Mount Vernon
Incorporated Cities Ailey, Alston, Higgston, Mount Vernon, Tarrytown and Uvalda
Total Area 244.786971 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 8274 to its current population estimate of 8991, the county has experienced a growth change of 717.

Montgomery County, in east central Georgia, is the state's twentieth county. It was created from part of Washington County in 1793 and received additional land from Telfair County in 1812. The county is named for Richard Montgomery, a brigadier general in the Continental army who was killed leading an assault against Quebec in 1775.

Montgomery County began as a rural county in which inhabitants raised a variety of crops to sustain themselves. They also harvested timber for cash, using local waterways to float the logs to Darien for market. Most people lived in isolated locations because of the difficulty of building roads in the region. The development of towns did not occur until after the Civil War (1861-65), when the wiregrass region was opened up by the arrival of railroads.

The county seat is Mount Vernon, which was settled in 1795. It was designated the county seat in 1813 but not incorporated until 1872. Initially court was held in the residence of William Neal. His home also functioned as the jail. In 1797 these functions were moved to Arthur Lott's plantation.

Points of Interest

The Montgomery County Courthouse, designed in the neoclassical revival style, was built in 1907. Located in Mount Vernon, the courthouse was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. Renovations to the building were completed in 1992.

Brewton-Parker College is a four-year institution affiliated with the Georgia Baptist Convention. Built in 1904, the same year as the school's founding, Gates Hall, pictured, is the only original building still standing on the college's main campus, which is located in Mount Vernon.

Higher Education

Brewton-Parker College

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Montgomery County Courthouse, Mount Vernon

Brewton Parker College

Return to top of page