County Snapshots Home

:: McDuffie County ::

Community Profile

County Formed October 18, 1870
County Seat Thomson
Incorporated Cities Dearing and Thomson
Total Area 266.496027 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 21276 to its current population estimate of 21370, the county has experienced a growth change of 94.

Named for George McDuffie, a native Georgian and distinguished lawyer, statesman, governor, and U.S. senator of South Carolina.

McDuffie County was originally divided into five militia districts: Republican, Wrightsboro, Thomson, Dearing and Mt. Auburn. Also of interest is Wrightsboro, a community founded by Quakers in 1768.

Gold was discovered near Thomson in 1823, although local gold mines only produced a total of $80,000 in gold bullion

Points of Interest

The Rock House, built around 1785 and is the oldest stone residence in Georgia.

William Bartram Trail

Noted Indian Trail

Notable Citizens

Notable persons from McDuffie County was Thomas Edward Watson, a U.S. Senator and leader of the Populist Party. He is credited with being the "Father of Rural Free Delivery." Also, Blind Willie McTell, one of the true pioneers and all-time greats of country blues guitar, was born in Thomson in 1901. Among his works are blues standards such as "Statesboro Blues", "Broke Down Engine Blues", and "Love Changing Blues" that have been popularized by famous present day artists.

Annual Events

Blind Willie McTell Blues Festival

Belle Meade Hunt Opening Meet

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Historic Depot, Thomson

Blind Willie Blues Festival, Thomson

Return to top of page