County Snapshots Home

:: Effingham County ::

Community Profile

County Formed February 5, 1777
County Seat Springfield
Incorporated Cities Guyton, Rincon and Springfield
Total Area 483.677241 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 37804 to its current population estimate of 55423, the county has experienced a growth change of 17619.

Effingham County was created in 1777 from the colonial parishes of St. Matthew and St. Philip. Georgia's 4th county was named for Lord Effingham, an English nobleman who was a colonial rights advocate and who refused to take up arms against the revolutionaries.

Effingham County is one of the oldest settlement areas in America. The Lutheran Salzburg community established in 1734 at Ebenezer (German for "Stone of Help"), was the second settlement in Georgia.

Points of Interest

There are several buildings and sites on the National Register of Historic Places in the county. These include the Effingham County Courthouse, the New Hope AME Church, the Guyton-Whitesville Historic District, the Jerusalem Church, and the New Ebenezer T

A length of the 314-mile long Savannah River forms Effingham County's eastern border, separating it from South Carolina.

Annual Events

Every year the county is host to the model plane fly-in held at Sandhill Park, as well as the Guyton Tour of Homes.

Chamber of Commerce
Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Ebenezer Settlement

Historic House in Guyton

Return to top of page