County Snapshots Home

:: Clayton County ::

Community Profile

County Formed November 30, 1858
County Seat Jonesboro
Incorporated Cities Forest Park, Jonesboro, Lake City, Lovejoy, Morrow and Riverdale
Total Area 144.303821 square miles


From its county population in 2000 of 238525 to its current population estimate of 267542, the county has experienced a growth change of 29017.

On November 30, 1858, the state legislature created Clayton County from parts of Fayette and Henry counties, making it the 125th county in the state. Clayton County is named for Augustin Smith Clayton, a Virginia native who moved with his family to Georgia as a child. He served three terms as a judge of the Western Circuit, was a member of the Electoral College, and served in the U.S. Congress from 1831 to 1835.

Jonesboro, the county seat, was originally called Leaksville but was renamed in 1845 after Colonel Samuel Goode Jones, a civil engineer with the Macon and Western Railroad Company, who also laid out the street plan for the city.

One of the most historic moments of the Civil War (1861-65) for Clayton County was the Battle of Jonesboro, which began on August 31, 1864. This was the climax of the Atlanta campaign. Union troops seized control of the railroad, and all supplies to the Atlanta home front were cut off.

Points of Interest

Clayton County is home to Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, the world's busiest passenger airport and the state's largest employer center, with a workforce of more than 56,000.

Spivey Hall, one of the Southeast's premier recital halls, is on the Clayton State campus

The Patrick R. Cleburne Confederate Memorial Cemetery was named for the general whose remains were brought from St. John's Cemetery, Ashwood, Tennessee, in 1870. In 1891 a marble column was dedicated in his honor at the cemetery, and in 1892 this granite shaft was dedicated to the Confederate dead.

Higher Education

Clayton College and State University

Annual Events

The Battle of Jonesboro reenactment at Stately Oaks Plantation takes place every second weekend in October.

Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Hartsfield Internation Airport

Stately Oaks

Return to top of page