County Snapshots Home

:: Calhoun County ::

Community Profile

County Formed February 20, 1854
County Seat Morgan
Incorporated Cities Arlington, Edison, Leary and Morgan
Total Area 280.2 square miles


Calhoun County was created in 1854 from parts of Baker and Early counties. It was named for Senator John C. Calhoun of South Carolina, who had resigned as Vice President of the U.S. in 1832 so that he could return to the Senate to debate Daniel Webster on state rights.

The county courthouse has burned down twice in Calhoun County, once in 1888 and again in 1920.

One site on the National Register of Historic Places is the Arlington Methodist Church, built in 1908. It was designed by Columbus architect T. Firth Lockwood, Sr., using the Romanesque style of architecture.

Morgan, the county seat, was named for General Daniel Morgan, a Revolutionary War figure.

Points of Interest

Agriculture dominates the economy, with more than 50% of the land designated prime farmland by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Calhoun County is home to several endangered plant and animal species including the Swamp Buckhorn, the Yellow Flytrap, the Hirst Panic Grass, and the Gopher Tortoise.

Annual Events

Calhoun County hosts many special events including the May Day Festival in Arlington, held the first Saturday in May and one of the oldest festivals in Georgia. In Edison, a Better Hometown City, the King Cotton Horse Show is held in May on Mother's Day weekend. Also, the Annual Harvest Festival in Morgan is held November around the courthouse square..

Additional County Info
Click here to view a larger map image.

State of Georgia

Ecotourism and Adventure

Hunting lodge in Edison

Return to top of page